One thought on “Digitisation *is* the death of History (till next year!)

  1. Sorry to have kept you up so late! Let’s hope there is a rematch as I think your points and the adjudicator’s remarks about capturing deteriorating items are two big ones.

    I also found the point interesting about the influence and choices being made about what gets digitised and what doesn’t… but I suppose we’ve really always filtered by deciding what goes into collections in the first instance.

    Hadn’t encountered the idea before of keeping old machines and programs rather than constantly converting file formats. This is a really nice dose of double-preservations (machines and files!) but I guess there would be hurdles of bulkiness/storage and sourcing parts if there are breakdowns.

    I can’t help but wonder if more software will be developed to open old and obsolescent files in the future. A token example is XP mode in newer versions of WIndows where one can install old software that won’t work anymore and basically operate it and its files as normal. I presently use about four pieces of software in this way.

Leave a comment