Augmented Reality – AR.

This week’s topic for 23 mobile things is AR or more formally, Augmented Reality.  Funnily enough in recent weeks at my workplace we had another fabulous “It’s not that hard” session this time on AR (the timing was a godsend).

During the session we experimented with several apps: Wikitude, Floodlines (from State Library of QLD), Anatomy 4D, Augment and String.

Here’s a picture of me my friend took using her device showing a cat climbing up my side…

Playing with AR

fabulous shot of my double chin! 😛

Whilst she was taking that picture I was taking this one:

Untitled

Making use of the App Augment. So. Much. Fun.

All the applications (barring Wikitude which relies on location services such as GPS) required an image (called a tracker or marker) to anchor your device’s camera.

Markers work by having software recognise a particular pattern, such as a barcode or symbol, when a camera points at it, and overlaying a digital image at that point on the screen. If the image is three-dimensional or animated, the effect is of a digital experience unfolding on the surface upon which the pattern is printed. (source)

We had a lot of fun playing with the tools. And having had a play, I can see how it could be used to enhance exhibitions at my library (which is what Floodlines was created for by SLQ). I’d also like to do some work on making digital exhibitions for our library (It would be nice if our website supported the activities that our in-person visitors enjoy).  Honestly going into the session, I wasn’t that enthusiastic (gimicky!)  that said, I had installed the apps on my iPad in preparation and had been looking forward to learning more – now I am a convert.

Have you had a play with AR?

One thought on “Augmented Reality – AR.

  1. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up Thing 11: Augmented reality | ANZ 23 Mobile Things

Leave a comment